top of page

How to Edit Pics for Instagram - 2017


For the past few months, I've been getting asked how I edit my pictures for Instagram.

I love making it bright and bold, so if you like this kind of finish, here is the brief description of how I edit them!

First of all, I use three different apps to edit.

1. iPhone

Technically this is not an app you download from App Store, but this is the feature you have in your iPhone itself unless you are using older iOS.

You can pretty much control the brightness here.

First, go to the camera roll and tap the image you want to edit.

When you find this on the bottom, click it.

After that, the background changes into black from white.

Then click this to control the brightness.

Choose the "Light" out of three options, and slide it to the left to make the picture sharp.

This feature makes the darker part of the image brighter, and kind of emphasizes the shape.

After that, click the three lines located on the right side.

By clicking it, you will see those options, so please select the brightness.

Slide it to the left side as you did on the "Light" section to make the image brighter.

You see the difference from the original one, but I personally feel like this is not bright enough.

So next, we use the app called "BeautyCam."

2. BeautyCam

This free app has many features other than filters such as making your skin smoother or legs longer.

You can even take out your mole or dark circles on your face.

But here, I would like to focus on the filters.

Now when you open up the app, you see this screen, so please select the "Beauty" button.

On to the next, select the image you would like to put the filter on.

You will find the "Filters" button on the bottom.

I personally like to use the "Peach" twice and "Moon" once, (total of three filters) but I occasionally choose to use the different filters as well depending on the original shades of images.

*"Moon" filter makes photos a bit less color.

If you are satisfied with it after putting those filters, you do not have to follow the next step :)

3. Instagram

But for me, I still need the final touch to make it perfect!

"Brightness" is to make it even brighter.

However, I do not like it when it gets too bright and the image is too blown out highlights.

To avoid that, I use "Highlights" and adjust to make sure to reduce blown out highlights.

(about -30 to -40 on the scale bar, not +30 to + 40.)

Also I often use "Lux" feature which is shown as ☀︎ on the top . (about +30 is my recommendation)

Last but not least, I use "Structure" to make the image sharpen.

Ta-da! This is how I like it on my Instagram.

❤︎TIP❤︎

Make sure your feed looks very cohesive.

When necessary, try to use the different filter to make it look like it is well-blended in with other images on the feed, so that they will look better!

Thank all of you who asked how I edit my Instagram pics!

Please leave some comments below if you find it useful and want to know more of this kind of things :)

Hope you liked this article and

Happy Instagram❤︎

0 comments
bottom of page